top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Toledo - a city worth exploring

Toledo sits majestically above the Tagus River and is one of the most visited cities in Spain. It can be done as a day trip from Madrid, which is what I did. It is a stunning city and the beauty starts right at the railway station. 

The history of Toledo dates back to its Roman occupation in 192BC. Toledo was the capital of the Spanish empire until 1560, when the royal court moved to Madrid. 

I stood here for quite some time, admiring its beauty - and I wasn't the only one! 

The entrance gives you a feeling that you are about to enter something grand and you are about to dive into history, just the way I like it. 

The view of the river snaking its way through the city is gorgeous and I decided I could not get a better place to sit and enjoy my breakfast. There were dark clouds but thankfully, it didn't rain, allowing me to roam around in perfect weather. 

The winding, cobbled streets of the old town are often crowded with locals and tourists. But, if you are willing to get lost or go off the beaten track, you can find yourself all alone and have the place just for yourself. 

One product Toledo is famous for, is the Toledo steel. It became a centre for traditional sword making and its swords were very popular with the Romans. 

A few years back, Hollywood used to source their metal props and swords from Toledo and many shops still display them with reference to the movies they have been used in. Too many to count, but it was a fascinating exercise to note how many movies have used the Toledo stuff. 

The Alcazar is a stone fortification located in the highest part of Toledo. It was once used as a Roman palace in the 3rd century and came to prominence once again during the Spanish civil war. Behind it, you get a good view of the surrounding mountains. 

After spending some time there, I head back into the old town. One of the historical landmarks is the Cathedral of Saint Mary. Its gothic exterior is very impressive. The bell tower houses the 18th century bell, which is the biggest in Spain (close to 20 tons).

Different cultures have occupied Toledo over the years - the Romans, the nomadic tribes of Visigoths and the Moors from North Africa. One can see the evidence of these inhabitants throughout the city, in representations of Christianity, Judaism and Islam. 

There are many museums worth considering, but if you just have a day to spend here, you can explore the entire old town as it in itself looks like an open air museum. There is a statue dedicated to the Eagle of Toledo, the professional road racing cyclist and Tour de France winner Federico Bahamantes.

One last thing to do was to sample some Enchiladas and sweets, known as Mazipan. The Toledo version comes in the shape of cute animals, whereas in Italy they make it in the shape of fruits. 

After lunch, I relaxed and enjoyed stunning views of the countryside. The effect of rain clouds moving in our direction left me spellbound and I was so lost in the scenery, that I forgot to actually look for some shelter. In a matter of minutes, it started pouring heavily and I was drenched unable to find a roof over my head.

After a while, the rain clouds retreated and a most amazing rainbow appeared on the horizon. A wonderful day just got better - I decided I won't leave the place, till the rainbow disappeared. Words can not describe the beauty of the place and all you can do is admire wholeheartedly the picture perfect scene in front of you. 

As the day draws to an end, I make my way down to the station to catch the train back to Madrid. It has been a beautiful day exploring the city and I am ready to rest my tired legs.


In Toledo, you are treated to historical landmarks, pretty plazas, architectural masterpieces and cobblestoned streets. The beauty of the place along with its cultural history make it a must visit destination on every Spanish itinerary. 


8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page