top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Segovia - a timeless beauty

Segovia is a 30 minute train ride from Madrid and worth a day trip. As you leave the capital city behind, there are some good views of the countryside. 

Segovia is famous for its Alcazar castle and Aqueduct. The town center is a brisk 20 minute walk from the station. Long before Madrid became the capital in the 16th century, Segovia was one of the most important cities in the country.


No wonder, Madrilenos fill up the little town over the weekend as there is lots to admire here.


There are two differentiated areas in Segovia - upper town within the ancient walls and the lower town outside the walls.

An Iberian settlement, it was captured by Romans and Moors before the Christians won it back. It had a flourishing textile industry in the Middle Ages. This unspoiled medieval town has a fairy tale royal Alcazar castle.

Originally built in 12th and 13th centuries, this royal castle houses a museum of weaponry now. Once you climb the 152 steps to the top tower, it has spectacular views of the region.

One can also visit the royal palace of La Granja and Monastery of Santa Maria. But, I chose to explore the small streets of the town. I am often reminded of U2's song "Where the Streets have no name" when I get lost in such streets.

I was trying to make my way to the stunning Cathedral de Segovia. It is located in the main square and as is common in most medieval towns, a Gothic masterpiece.

The unhurried pace of the town can transport you back in time & I had a very nice time roaming around, without a plan or timeline. There are always opportunities to catch some street performances !

The final masterpiece on my tour was the Roman built Aqueduct, which carries water 10 miles from Frio river to Segovia. It is one of the best preserved aqueducts in the world and still in use. Great slabs of granite from Guadaramma mountains form 118 arches that stretch across the plaza and beyond. It is astonishing that there is no cement holding the structure together. It was a wonderful sight and I spent quite some time at different vantage points to take shots of the aqueduct. 


Once I was content, I made my way back to the station and was lucky enough to spot the last of the autumn colours from close quarters.


Segovia is a city to enjoy slowly, making your own discoveries. Delighted with my day out, I took the evening train back to Madrid.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page