top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Murano & Burano - the twin wonders

Venice had always attracted me for a long long time. But, I did not know the twin islands Murano and Burano would turn out to be so special. 

I had taken a day trip from Venice and I did not regret it one bit. I took the water buses operated by the Venetian public transport.  The colour of the water became more pronounced as you leave Venice further behind.

Murano is famous for its glassmaking, glass museum and historic churches, especially San Donato, one of the oldest in the region. Murano in the 8th century began the traditional art of molding crystal in exquisite forms. 

I wandered around in these narrow streets, without a clue where I was going. There is a certain sense of wonder when you don't know what you gonna find or what will turn up. 

Since the glassmaking process was very complex, the makers were not allowed to leave the country, so as to protect its secrets. Brown glass is very famous here and one can see the furnaces where it is born. It was selected as a "floating" factory in order to prevent fires on land during the process if glassmaking. It is a handmade tradition, passed through generations. 

The bridges are perfect spots to take stunning photographs. 

Instead of owning a scooter or a car, the residents here own a boat. Spending your entire lifetime on water is such a different way of living - so many things that we take for granted (parks,  malls, cinema halls, traffic jams etc) on land, simply do not exist here. 

I walked along the narrow lanes with wonder in my eyes and belatedly, I realized that I need to make a move if I wanted to visit Burano today itself. After waiting for a few minutes at the "boat stop", I headed towards Burano. 


The cool breeze and the splendid sights made me forget the summer sun, as we cruised towards our destination. 


Burano is an island of fishermen, lacemakers and colourfully painted houses. If Murano was stunning, Burano just takes your breath away. It is simply outstanding and I could wander here for hours without getting bored. 

I loved the streets and the houses - this was turning out to be a place right out of fantasy books.

I could not resist my hunger pangs anymore, which became unbearable once I saw this Pizzeria. I crossed the bridge and headed into the charming little family restaurant, which served delicious pizzas but their specialty was Tiramisu. It was pure heaven and worth all the wait. I lingered on for a while, deliberating whether I can have a second course of the dessert but when it was apparent that I could not stuff myself any more, I left the place with a heavy heart !

Burano is actually an archipelago of 5 islands, connected through bridges. It became famous in the 16th century, when its laces became a rage in Europe. Sometimes, you can see the women sit at their front doors weaving laces in a most exquisite way. But, authentic pieces cost quite a lot and I was happy just admiring the craftsmanship. 

The Bell tower that leans like the Leaning Tower of Pisa, because its bases have yielded. 

I could not get enough of the place and as the sun started disappearing behind the buildings, I knew it was time for me to head back. Everywhere you go, you can see immense beauty. It is a treat for photographers. 

I wish I had more time, so that I could visit the historic Torcello too which was one of the first islands to be inhabited as the Venetians escaped from repeated barbaric invasions. 


As I head back to Venice, I witness a glorious sunset to mark the end of a glorious day -


5 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント


bottom of page