top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Loch Lomond - the Scottish Beauty

One of Scotland's most famous destinations, Loch Lomond's natural beauty attracts people from far & wide. It is the largest lake in Scotland and the most famous after the Loch Ness. I took the ScotRail from Glasgow to Balloch early in the morning to explore a bit of Loch Lomond. 

It is part of Loch Lomond & Trossachs National Park, the first national park in Scotland. The southern end of the loch is quite flat and Balloch is the main town, which is a good starting point for exploring the loch.


I exit the village and enter the park, which runs along the shores of the lake. The loch stretches for more than 36 kilometers and has more than 30 different islands, some of which are visible only when the water levels are low.


The summer months are the busiest, when tourists fill up the place to the rafters. However, in the winter months, it is a different story and the day I visit, it is dead silent. All the boats lie still in calm waters, enjoying the moments of solitude after going through the grind in the past few months.

The scenery becomes mountainous and quite wild, by the time you reach the northern end of the loch. To enjoy the nature, it is best to go by bike or walk, if you are willing to cover large distances on foot.


I choose a spot by the water to have my breakfast. The park was eerily silent and after spending the last few days in crowded cities, the difference was starker.


After having my loneliest breakfast on the trip, I continued my walk with a hope that heavens don't open up in the next few hours. Without any cover, I did not want to end up getting drenched - it was cold as it is !

I don't know if it was the weather, the silence or being all alone in the woods, I felt all my senses were heightened. The sound of the howling wind, rustling of the leaves or the animal/bird calls got amplified and there were moments when I ended up looking back over my shoulder to trace the origin of the sound.

The Balloch castle stands alone amidst the trees. It has only two accessible rooms and not much information is available about the castle. It was built in the 20th century to replace the old one located further down the hill and served as a manor house.

I continued my walk along the shores and stopped at a few places to take photos of the lake. The water was really cold and not as inviting as it would be in the summer. I found a couple of spots where I could not resist putting my feet up and soak in nature. It was as if time stood still and my mind was blank - I could have stayed here for hours reading a book or doing absolutely nothing !

The loch is surrounded by charming villages, picturesque countryside and hills. It is a destination for weekend trips and longer vacations alike. Like so many places in Scotland, the nature leaves you spellbound and you always end up craving for more. Unfortunately, I just had a day and in the evening hours, I had to turn back and make my way back to Balloch.

I explored a bit of the village, before taking the train back to Glasgow. I was thankful for some nature therapy, before the city life took over the next few days of my vacation !


11 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page