top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Glenfinnan - Magic is in the air

I didn't know the bridge shown in the Harry Potter movies was the Glenfinnan viaduct, until I set foot in the UK and decided to visit Scotland. Once I had seen a bit of the cities, it was time to the take the world famous West Highland Line from Glasgow. 

After one of the most visually stunning train journeys, it was time to give my legs some decent exercise. Unfortunately, the station museum was closed in the winter months. 

A trail through the woods begins right outside the station -


Pretty soon, it was just me and the nature. 


The Scottish Highlands are a delight and I would love to spend a few weeks here, hiking and admiring the gorgeous views. With views like these, I stopped frequently to soak in the beauty. 

Amidst the rainy weather, I was fortunate to get a day of clear sunshine for my hike. The silence of the place was broken only by the howling wind and sometimes, it used to catch me unawares. I would stop and look around trying to spot any movement or disturbance in the mountains - it was good that I had not read the Potter books or else, I would be imagining wizards, death eaters or dementors in such a beautiful place. The trail is well maintained and some of the sections look like a stairway to the promised land !


I could make out the viaduct in the distance - it was built between 1897-1901 and has 21 arches.

I was not a Harry Potter fan the day I visited the place, but I had seen a couple of movies and remembered the train (Hogwarts Express) scene in the second movie quite well. The train filmed is the Jacobite steam locomotive, a tourist train. I loved the view and could not get enough of it. I decided that once I am back home, I will watch the movie again to relive the scene. Little did I know that I will be reading the books and watching all the movies in the near future, courtesy my best friend - maybe, this visit was the start of my Harry Potter love! 

After spending a long time admiring the view, I reluctantly moved on to the Scottish hamlet, whose population is only 120. I have more than twice the number of people in the apartment building where I live. A shock for most Indians, I guess ! 

For aerial shots of the bridge, permission is supposed to be taken - it would be interesting to find out from Alistair how many calls he receives every month. Another sign nearby mentions that there are around 350,000 visitors a year to see the Potter bridge.


I loved the mention of the Ford Anglia car, which goes missing in the woods here in the 2nd book - I did not spot the missing car that day ! 


You walk under the viaduct to get to the Glenfinnan monument. It is a memorial to the Jacobite uprising in 1745. The story goes that Prince Charles landed here from France and climbed the nearby mountain to claim the British throne in the name of his father. Brandy was distributed to the highlanders to celebrate the occasion. A year later, the movement failed. 

In the setting sun and pleasant weather, the stroll alongside the lake was an absolute pleasure. I would have loved to camp here for the night! 

I spent some time at the cafe cum souvenir shop. The guy at the store told me that in 2019, they have had record sales of 100,000 Glenfinnan picture postcards. No wonder, you have the appeal of the Highlands, Harry Potter and the Viaduct. I scanned the landscape for any sign of the Hogwarts school but all I could find was this castle. 


The setting sun brought a chill in the air and I was left wondering how tough it would be to hike these mountains in peak winters - the snow had started forming at the top of the mountains.

Before darkness fell, I reached the station and tried to keep myself warm as best as possible. I love these kind of small stations, which can transport you back to the bygone era - it reminded me a bit about my beloved train station Wellington in Nilgiris. I spent my time loitering around on the platform and taking photos -

As darkness fell and I was the only one at the station, I could not help wondering about my next move if today's train gets cancelled - will I be spending the night in freezing temperatures at the platform or will I be forced to hike back to the village in absolute darkness and ask for shelter? I was saved from the "What If" scenario when the train arrived and I was glad to enter the warm & cozy compartment. 


Glenfinnan is a magical place, with or without the Harry Potter appeal. It surely had me under its spell for a long time and I hope in future, there comes a day when I return to this beautiful piece of land. 


14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page