top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

The last supper at Cafe Churchill

The famous Cafe Churchill in Colaba is renowned in Mumbai for its pastas, soups and delicious homemade desserts. I have been going to this cafe for the last 10-12 years and the taste has remained exactly the same. As you walk around Colaba (past Cafe Mondegar - another favorite of mine), you really need to look carefully or else you might just miss this small cafe. To relive the old days, I visited this cafe again on my recent trip to Mumbai. And boy, did I have a most wonderful time !


We were welcomed at the Parsi run cafe by one of the owners Feni Sooi and she was by our side all the way, guiding us when we were confused by the multiple options on offer. The chef Hubert Fernandes and his delicacies have made many a Mumbaikar's day !


I could not make up my mind at all - what to order and what to skip !


Once we diverted our minds from the desserts, we decided to start with the Minestrone Alla Parmigiana - mixed veg soup with Parmesan cheese. Then came the best dish of the day - Malfatti, which is one of their specialties. We were all smiles as we dug into Malfatti (dumplings made of spinach and cheese) -

I could have ordered another one, if my mind was not set on tasting their desserts, which are finger licking good. It was so tough but we decided to go with the eggless Banofee pie and Chocolate Mousse.


It did not disappoint us one bit and we were glad to sample some excellent veg options and eggless desserts. This place is a heaven for non vegetarians and the limited space is an issue, if you visit during peak hours. But once inside, you can forget the world and enjoy some wonderful hospitality and food served with so much love. I would love to go there every time I visit Mumbai.


Once we came out of the café with our full tummies and content hearts, we saw this store opposite the café - it was back to the 'Corona' madness going around in the world, which we had forgotten for the last couple of hours. Little did I know that this was going to be my last meal in a restaurant for quite some time !


7 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page