top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

The historic Panathenaic stadium in Greece

The Panathenaic Stadium is located on the site of an ancient stadium and for many centuries hosted games in which male athletes competed in track events (athletics championships). It is truly one outstanding piece of history, which is not to be missed if you are a lover of sports or even history. Just thinking about the fact that I am standing there, leaves me lost for words !

It was built on the banks of river Ilissos and even then, care was taken to build the spectator seats in such a way that their view is not obstructed. The running track is also elevated a bit, so that rain water does not enter the track.

This was done in Roman times, when Athens was not such a great power and the horseshoe shape is said to be a characteristic of Greek stadia with Roman influence. The view from the centre leaves me stunned & I must have taken countless pictures while enjoying some respite from the sun !

The Athenians were proud of the Panathenaic Stadium. However, with the prevailing of Christianity, prohibition of pagan celebrations and the barbarous spectacles of Roman times (such as bloody gladiatorial duels and contests with wild beasts), the Panathenaic Stadium lost its glory. I can very well imagine the final scene of "Gladiator" being shot here.


There is a very interesting chamber, accessed by a tunnel constructed below the seats. Here, it is said that the magical rites were enacted by young Athenian maidens, aimed at finding a good husband. I guess this is one practice which doesn't change much with time - people in the BC era as well as the AD era have always been occupied with finding the perfect mate !


Today, this chamber leads to a room where they have displayed information about the stadium and a stunning collection of replicas of all the Olympic torches.


This is also the place where athletes used to warm up before stepping onto the field and give their all for the elusive gold medal. Just standing here gives me the shivers - the goosebumps last a while while I compose myself and bring myself back to the present. Stepping into the Athens heat brought me back to reality alright !


I had a small run at the track - it felt like one major ambition in life had been achieved! Of course, I had to stand on the podium - I won an imaginary gold medal in a race where I was the sole contestant.


There are views of Acropolis and Lycabettus hill from top of the stadium.


It had been a stunning couple of hours, which I will remember for a long time. I end it with a cheesy message in the visitor's note book. Go India Go !


6 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page