top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Blagaj Monastery

I had been to Blagaj monastery in Bosnia with a friend I made while staying in Mostar. He majored in Sports Management and works for the mountain rescue team during the winter season. However, in the other months, he is forced to do odd jobs (bouncer at a local bar, tourist guide etc) to make his living. He also runs a homestay along with his mother which brings in much needed cash during the summer months, the peak tourist season. When he offered to take me on a road trip around Mostar, there was no way I could have said no.


One of the places we visited was Blagaj monastery and the route towards the monastery is quite scenic. The endless roads, the valleys and the middle of nowhere villages that cropped up time and again ensured that we were stopping frequently to take photos.

On my way to the monastery, we passed a wonderful fort on top of a mountain, which is lying in ruins. My friend informed me that the government doesn't have enough money to take care of all the landmark buildings in the country and therefore, they have to pick and choose which one to refurbish and which one to cast aside. I felt really sad when he said this even though I know it is true for most countries in the world.

As is the case with most monasteries I have been to, the location is quite serene. Built in 1520, this is a very important site for Dervish cults (also known as fakirs, sometimes famous for performing miracles).

It is situated at the spring of the Buna river, which flows for around 10 kilometers and joins Neretva at village Buna. Mostar receives its drinking water from Buna river.

The water has various shades of blue and it is advisable to take a boat ride into the cave (5-7 minutes) for 2. It reminded me a little bit about the Amalfi blue - it was like the poor cousin of the famous Blue Grotto !

The boat owner was a funny guy and he regaled us with funny stories about the tourists he meets daily. The kicker was when he told us that we need to pay him 2 only if he can bring us back alive ! In winter season, the water level rises and no one can enter the cave.


As we left the place, my friend asked me if I wanted to buy some stuff at the local shops. Any money I spend would help them a lot, as their only source of income is whatever the tourists spend. I have been pleasantly surprised at the beauty of this wonderful country. The only thing they lack is sufficient funds for their economic development and growth. In a way, I felt that the absence of tons of money in the hands of locals made my interaction with them real and friendly - no arrogance or false pretences.


It is a sad situation for the young population in Bosnia, who cannot find jobs or opportunities once they finish studies. Many are forced to leave the country and work in other European countries (mostly Croatia) to make ends meet. Even though my friend is reluctant to leave his hometown, he admitted he might have to leave soon once things become dire and it became a matter of survival for him. With this sobering thought in my mind, I fell silent on my way back to Mostar.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page