top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

Backpacking in Europe - a dream trip on a budget

Updated: Sep 17, 2020

I backpacked through Europe & UK in the second half of 2019 and it was the realization of a long held dream. The idea was to start in Eastern Europe, travel through Balkans and Western Europe before finishing off in style in the UK. Since I had been visiting the continent for last 10 years, I had first hand knowledge of how to plan my trip the way I wanted it. A bit of research got me some crucial travel hacks, so that I could stretch my funds for a longer stay in the region.

I traveled for 4 months from August to November and the trip was way better than my expectations. Europe had always been my favorite destination and what happened last year ensured that this love affair will last forever. I mention below some of the points which will be useful for traveling Europe on a budget -


1. Travel Time - The peak season is July/August and my idea was to start the trip in August in Eastern Europe (way cheaper than the West) and head into the touristy West in Sept/Oct (the shoulder season) when the crowds reduce and prices become more pocket friendly. It still gave me enough time to roam around in Oct/Nov before the winter arrives and travel to certain places becomes an issue. It is also a good idea to skip capital cities on weekends, if possible. 


2. Flights - If the trip is confirmed, it is best to book the flight tickets well in advance. For me, it was a one way ticket and I booked it couple of months in advance. Avoid booking on the weekends, public holidays etc. I booked my ticket from Mumbai (cheapest for my sector) in the middle of the week for 22k. Needless to say, one needs to check all options possible - travel agent, setting fare alerts, skyscanner, cheapoair or other websites and compare prices before making the booking. One can also check cheaper destinations to land in - I did not do that, as I wanted to land in Athens and start my journey. I got a cheaper fare (24k) in the return leg, as I selected a Swiss Air flight which had a long layover in Zurich. If time is not a constraint, this option can save a few bucks. 


3. Visa - The Schengen visa costs 60 Euros (approx INR 5,000). Because of my prior travels, the visa process was a breeze and I got the 90 day visa. It is easier to get the Schengen visa issued from the Eastern European countries but if all documents are in order, it is never an issue irrespective of which country's embassy one gets it from. The UK visa costs around Rs 9,500, valid for 6 months. It is always better to submit the visa application at least 3 weeks before the travel date (7-10 days earlier, if it is tourist season just to be safe). 


4. Travel Insurance - I had taken a Bajaj Allianz policy for 4 months for INR 3000. It is always better to travel with an insurance cover. 


5. Mode of Transport (Road/Air/Sea/Rail) - Eurail is very helpful for train travel within Schengen countries. But, since I was traveling a lot in Eastern Europe and Balkan countries, I stuck to road travel. The buses are quite decent and very cost effective too (depending on distance, most bus fares would be in the range of Euros 15-50). 

Coming from India where I am used to long distance travel, I did not feel any discomfort in taking the road. Flixbus was a precious gift from heaven, as I used it regularly to book my tickets. The earlier the booking, the cheaper the fares. The only thing to remember with Flixbus is sometimes, the boarding/drop off points are outside city limits and it can be a long walk to/from the hostel. I took quite a few trains to satisfy my craving for train journeys (my favorite mode of transport from my childhood days) - as and when the bus timings did not suit me or when the prices were cheaper. I also took overnight bus/train options wherever feasible, which gave me the twin benefits of saving a night's reservation cost and utilizing the day exploring the city (which would have otherwise been spent commuting). 

I took boat cruises a few times when I was visiting islands (Croatia, Italy, Greece etc). I avoided air travel within Europe (except in Greece) for reducing my carbon footprint as much as possible. 


6. International Debit Card - Since I was traveling for 4 months, I used my ICICI Forex debit card for transactions and ATM withdrawals. It was very convenient and I also avoided the risk of losing large sum of money (theft, loss of card etc) because I could load forex through internet banking as and when needed. When I had to change my Euros to the local currency in different countries, I always made it a point to avoid using the currency exchange at bus/train stations, as the exchange rates are always worse than normal. 

7. Phone Connectivity - I did not buy a SIM card as I wanted to spend my time exploring the places without being hampered by the urge to look at my phone every few minutes. There is Wifi in all the hostels, restaurants and coffee shops. I downloaded the city maps, so I could use it offline and marked all the important places to visit as part of my route from the hostel. Then, I just allowed myself to get lost in the streets and if I wanted to get myself back on track, I could simply check the maps. There is absolutely no need of spending money on a phone connection in Europe. But, in case one feels it is something they can't do without, there are a host of international roaming plans available now or a new SIM card could be taken (I used Lyca last time around and it worked quite well). 


8. Hostels - I used booking.com and hostelworld to make my bookings everywhere. I might have stayed in close to 50 hostels during my trip and 90% of the properties lived up to, or exceeded my expectations (rating of 7.5 and above). As far as I can remember, my only disappointment were the hostels in Tirana, Cardiff and Santorini, though they had their locational adavantages. The hostels in Eastern Europe and Balkans were dirt cheap, some of them were ridiculously low around 10€. The Greek islands and the touristy cities in Western Europe were the expensive ones priced around 25€ or more. Some of these hostels also had the option of separate rooms or family rooms and it is always best to check their suitability based on one's requirements, location, amenities etc.

The best part about the hostels, apart from their budget pricing, was the backpackers you meet and the instant friendships you can strike. Family homestays are also an option worth exploring, as it gives a local flavour to our stays. Travel plans are made in an instant and you can strike the best bargains collectively, as a group. I made some good friendships on the road, which enhanced my experience significantly.


9. Food & Drinks - I had done my homework on the local delicacies I wanted to sample in every place I was visiting. Being a vegetarian, the options get limited but there is still a lot of stuff out there which can satisfy my taste buds (except the Balkans, of course who are obsessed with their meat). I avoided eating near the tourist traps wherever possible, as it is over priced and over rated. 

The only rule I had was "no Indian cuisine"! I always checked with the hostels for their suggestions and they were more than good with the recommendations. If one is really adamant at keeping costs down, there is always the local market or supermarket. I was not so particular about that as my preference was always to taste the local delicacies. Lastly, one has to also budget for the parties and night outs with your hostel mates. 

Being a sports fanatic, I had to try and catch the weekend's sports action in pubs and hostels, as much as possible. 


10. Walk, Walk, Walk - I was walking upwards of 10-15 kms every day. "Stay central and walk everywhere" was my mantra. I always walked from bus stops/train stations to the centrally located hostels and in case of a few big cities like Madrid, I was using the public transport if the distance was too much. The amount I spent on public transport in cities was miniscule, as I always stayed in or around the city centre. 

Of course, there were so many hikes to do, once I was outside the city limits - I guess I would have walked around 1500+kms during my European sojourn.

11. Free entertainment is everwhere - As I was staying in the city centre, most of the tourist attractions were part of my daily walks. 

In the evenings, I kept an eye out for various performances happening in the busy streets. They are all free, but it is recommended to tip them for their talents.

There are also a lot of museums and exhibitions, which are free. They were so good that I wouldn't have complained at all if they had charged an entrance fee. Also, some of the ones which do charge an entrance free have a weekday where admission is free. It is an option worth exercising, even if it gets too crowded. The city passes are also a good option to invest in, which give a blanket admission to many attractions for a fixed fee. 

12. Souvenir shopping - I collect fridge magnets and/or some local souvenirs on my trips but most of them are not expensive. So, it doesn't make a dent in my budget. 


13. Sports Events - I was on the lookout for sports events happening in Europe and it was always my plan to attend as many as possible. The prices are fixed but it is always better to book tickets at the earliest. 

14. Water Water everywhere - I saved a lot of money on water, as one can drink straight out of the tap. The guilt of buying plastic water bottles was thus avoided. 

15. Laundry - Many of the hostels I stayed in, had a laundry facility available and it was cheap to get the lot done in the hostel itself (€5 or less for a bucket load). I did not visit the laundromat, which is an option nonetheless.  To finish things off, I would say it is entirely possible to backpack through Europe at around  €50 per day (I did it for less!). Eastern Europe and Balkans are cheaper than the West. Cost of accommodation is in the range of € 10-25/day, based on the country. Food works out to around € 20-30/day (it can be cheaper if one buys from the supermarket or cooks in the hostel). My transport cost was only the inter city buses, which I took from one location to another. 


Europe is a destination which must be on everyone's bucket list. And I hope everyone is as lucky as I was to make this dream trip come true. Do not let the finances stop you, as it is 100% possible to travel Europe economically. I am living proof !! 

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page