top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

A winter day in Geneva

Geneva was not in my travel plan but due to a sudden trip to Germany, I was stranded in this vibrant city for a day. It was a cold and wet day, but I was happy that I did not have the harsh sun beating down on me while I was lugging my backpack around the city. 

On my way to Geneva, a fellow passenger asked me to taste Rivella, a weird soft drink available only in Switzerland. It is made of milk whey (liquid left after milk is curdled). It is sweet & tastes like ginger mixed with sparkling cola - good to have for a while but not sure I can have it regularly ! 


Located just 4 kms from the French border, Geneva is a rich and cosmopolitan city located on the shores of Lake Geneva. It is famous for its banks, watchmakers and UN offices. 


It is a small city and you can wander around the whole place in a few hours. 40% of the city's population comes from outside Switzerland - truly, an international city !

A leisurely stroll along the banks & then I spot this beauty -

The Lake is a haven for ducks, swans, seagulls and various birds. 

This notice was a funny way of asking people not to feed the aquatic birds. 

A reading to detect the difference between solar time and normal time around the year - it can be as much as 15 minutes. 

Geneva is a global city, a financial centre, and a worldwide centre for diplomacy due to the presence of highest number of international organizations, including the headquarters of many agencies of the UN and Red Cross. There are too many museums and exhibitions to keep a count. 


Before exploring more of the old town, it was time for some swiss chocolates -

Shopping along the luxurious rue de Rhone is a national pastime - 


The Cathedrale de St. Pierre is a very famous cathedral and one of the city's icons. 

The architecture in the old town is quite magnificent and I took my own sweet time exploring the wonderful buildings. When it was time to rest my tired limbs, I found a quiet corner under the trees.

In the evening, I move towards the lake to have a look at the Jet d'eau (water fountain), one of the most famous landmarks in the city. It shoots 500 litres of water a second to a height of 140 metres. It is one of the highest fountains in the world and can also be seen from across the border in France. 

I sat in the lakeside park and enjoyed the setting for a long long time. 

I was spellbound when I saw a murmuration - thousands of birds doing a massive aerial stunt. It was absolutely breathtaking to witness - so many birds swooping and diving in unison. 

Once it got dark, the temperature dropped sharply & it was my cue to head back to the bus station and wait there instead - Flixbus to the rescue and I am off to Spain! 


8 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page