top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

A desolate Lake Balaton

After spending a few days in Budapest, it was time to look outward and my first day trip happened to be Lake Balaton. I took an early morning train from Budapest and in less than 3 hours, I reached my destination.

Lake Balaton is the biggest lake in central Europe (592 sq. kms.). There are many towns worth visiting in the region. Considered the Hungarian inner sea, the lake is home to beautiful landscapes surrounded by ancient fortresses, vineyards and historic towns. I got down at Siofok and the walk from the station to the lake is beautiful with the streets flanked by trees at both ends. As we approach autumn and the leaves change color, it is time to pause and reflect on how wonderful nature is -

The town was eerily quiet and the only sound I heard was that of a dog barking at me from a house that I passed. It felt as if the whole town had been evacuated and this dog was the only one left behind. I must say I was glad to see a couple of people at the waterfront -

After spending some time in the shade, I walked towards the other end of town. Siofok has a very calm and residential feel to it but I guess the concept of house security is very loose here. I am pretty sure I could break these boundary walls if I kick real hard - not that I was gonna try !


From Siofok, one can take a boat to Tihany, probably the oldest medieval town in the region. There are brick towers, a royal crypt & hillside streets dressed in cobblestone – romance and history in one ! Near the port, one can climb the water tower which gives a panoramic view of the town -

On the northern shores of Lake Balaton lies the marvelous town of Szigliget which houses a medieval fortress built around the 13th century to protect the region from tartar invasions & Turkish occupation. The fort, which was attacked on many occasions, is in ruins today.


At the lakeside park near Siafok port, it was fun observing the behaviour of ducks and swans while I had my snack.

Even here, one can see the love locks -


Surrounding Lake Balaton, beautiful volcanic hills provide fertile soil for grape farms and lavender. Badascony is home to many vineyards and provides an idyllic setting for an extended vacation.


The spa towns Heviz & Balatonfured are close by. It is said that Romans came here to bathe more than 2,000 years ago. Since then, it has been a hotspot for relaxation & mineral treatments in the Balkans & Central Europe. It is worthwhile to check the lake caves of Balaton, 15-20 meters below the surface. They were discovered around 1903 and include more than 3 kilometers of passages, underground formations and countess chambers.


As time ticks by, I watch the local fishermen trying their luck. Thankfully, the fishes avoid a gruesome fate today !


After lunch, I explore the streets and an interesting mineral museum. As the day draws to an end, I take the train back to Budapest.

Lake Balaton is fun when you combine 2 or 3 towns, so that you can get a real feel for the place.

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

댓글


bottom of page