top of page
Writer's pictureGanesh

A chance encounter leads to a lifelong bond !

I met this lovely American couple from Montana on my train journey from Ljubljana to Budapest. I was settling into my seat when I saw Bill trying to keep the suitcase on the luggage hold over the seat and instinctively, I just helped him with his stuff. Thus, started the friendship which has been so beautiful to experience (especially since I was missing my friends who left for Germany).

Mary was busy solving Sudoku & we talked on and off during the journey. With Bill, I was discussing international relations and politics most of the time - it was fun to put into use what I have read and learned over the last few years. In turn, I was asking them questions about USA, Trump and so on.

Mary and I bonded over wildlife and it was really pleasing to see their interest in travel still going strong - I wish I can be healthy enough to travel like them when I am retired! 

Once we reached Budapest, I waited for them to get into the taxi before leaving for the hostel. 

When I reached my hostel, I was speechless after reading this email from Mary. I did not know how to respond, so I took a day to ensure I type some sort of a decent reply. One of those moments when words failed me. It is amazing how in life, you meet some people only for a few hours and they leave such a massive impact. The beauty of chance encounters leading to life long associations is indescribable. It is pure serendipity that I have been able to meet such good people on my travels.

I hope to welcome them to India some time in the future and show them around. The joys of traveling - this trip has been so much better than I dreamed of. The people, the places and the culture have been a revelation. It is something I can never forget for the rest of my life ! 

33 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentários


bottom of page